Discussing with friends

Sooner or later you will get the urge to agree or disagree with something that is being said in English. When having an informal chat, we tend to express our opinion on many different topics. Offering an opinion can be difficult when it is not in your first language.

The best thing to do is to learn and practise some common expressions that are used in discussions and debates. Find below a list of the most common ones:

Stating an opinion
  • In my opinion…
  • The way I see it…
  • If you want my honest opinion….
  • According to Lisa…
  • As far as I’m concerned…
  • If you ask me…
Asking for an opinon
  • What’s your idea?
  • What are your thoughts on all of this?
  • How do you feel about that?
  • Do you have anything to say about this?
  • What do you think?
  • Do you agree?
  • Wouldn’t you say?
Expressing agreement
  • I agree with you 100 percent.
  • I couldn’t agree with you more.
  • That’s so true.
  • That’s for sure.
  • (slang) Tell me about it!
  • You’re absolutely right.
  • Absolutely!
  • That’s exactly how I feel.
  • Exactly.
  • No doubt about it.
  • (agree with positive statement) Me too/ So do I.*
  • (agree with negative statement) Me neither/ Neither do I*
  • (weak) I suppose so./I guess so.
  • You have a point there.
  • I was just going to say that.
Expressing disagreement
  • I don’t think so.
  • (strong) No way.
  • I’m afraid I disagree.
  • (strong) I totally disagree.
  • (strong) I’d say the exact opposite.
  • Not necessarily.
  • That’s not always true.
  • That’s not always the case.
  • No, I’m not so sure about that.
Interruptions
  • Can I add something here?
  • Is it okay if I jump in for a second?
  • If I might add something…
  • Sorry to interrupt, but…
  • (after accidentally interrupting someone) Sorry, go ahead. OR Sorry, you were saying…
  • (after being interrupted) You didn’t let me finish.
Settling an argument
  • Let’s just move on, shall we?
  • Let’s drop it.
  • I think we’re going to have to agree to disagree.
  • (sarcastic) Whatever you say./If you say so.

Note that when you disagree with someone, you can often sound more polite by using a phrase such as “I’m afraid…”

* So do I/ Neither do I. As you found some difficulties with these expressions in class, find below the rules to form them and the quizzes we saw in class:

To agree with a positive statement:We use so + auxiliary/modal verb + pronoun: “I like tea without sugar.’ ‘So do I.’
To disagree with a positive statement:
We use pronoun + auxiliary/modal verb + not (-n’t): “I like tea without sugar.’ ‘I don’t.’

To agree with a negative statement:

We use nor/neither + auxiliary/modal verb + pronoun: “I don’t like tea with sugar.’ ‘Nor do I.’ or ‘Neither do I.’

To disagree with a negative statement:

We use pronoun + auxiliary/modal verb: “I don’t like tea with sugar.’ ‘I do.

test 1 and   test 2

This entry was posted in Face2face Intermediate, Speak Out Intermediate, Speaking & Pronunciation, Textbook, Unit 4. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

